The chemical composition of essential oil of mountain Mint (Cyclottrichium niveum L.) leaves

Guilles Figueredo, Jean Claude Chalchat, Pierre Chalard, DurmuÅŸ Ali Ceylan, Osman Tugay, Mehmet Musa Ozcan, Mustafa Mete Ozcan

Volume 25, Issue 3;
Pages: 153-156; 2019
ISSN: 2069-0053 (print) (former ISSN: 1453-1399), Agroprint;
ISSN (online): 2068-9551
The air dried part of Cyclottrichium niveum L plant was subjected to hydrodistillation for 4 h using a Clevenger type apparatus to give yellow oils in 0.8 %. The constituents of mountain mint essential oil was determined via gas chromatography-mass spectrometry (GC-MS). Thirty-one constituents were identified in the oil, representing 98.53% of the total oil. Pulegone (49.23%), isomenthone (15.52%), neo-iso-menthol (12.67%), menthone (3.32%), β-pinene (3.31%), cis-isopulegone (3.13%) and menthol (3.0%) were established as major constituents of mountain mint. According to these reports, isomenthone and pulegone are the main compounds of Cyclotrichium niveum essential oil.
300645-Timisoara, Calea Aradului 119, Romania
Tel: +40-256-277423
Fax: +40-256-277326
Copyright © 2024 Journal of Agroalimentary Processes and Technologies